At The Heart of Manila Seedling Bank

It’s been quite a while since I had the opportunity to visit this place. Back when my son, Josef was still learning how to drive, we used to come here just to take a look at the different plants displayed in the many stalls . One time, we found a cacti shop and I  was really, really overjoyed looking at the varieties of cacti  sold at the area.The Manila Seedling Bank is an environmental NGO which was founded in 1977. It’s a seedling producer and over the years so many plant stores have sprouted like mushroom here. I am a member of Green 2000 so I get a little discount when I buy seeds and garden supplies here.
You couldn’t help but admire the different herbs and medicinal plants grown here. There are so many varieties of Basil. Lavender, Mint, Sage, and Lemongrass.

These are Mints of different variety. How  I wish I have all of these in my own little garden.

In one of the stalls we visited, they have Lantana in varied hues, water plants,and  different vines. I was able to buy two pots of blue iris here.

We saw this garden center and I was elated to know that their plants are all labeled. I asked the owner if I could take some shots and she gladly said to go ahead. I promised her I’ll write something about it.

Bing bought a pot of Kampupot, a double layered bloom, this is what we usually know as sampaguita.

Marigold and caladiums mixed with spathiphyllum plants.

Hanging ferns in different varieties and sizes. Wish I could bring all of them home.

We visited Purificacion orchids. These are Phalaenopsis Orchids or simply called Butterfly orchids. They actually cost an arm and a leg and depending on what variety, they can go up as high as P800.00 per pot.
Amaryllis, anyone? They sell them for P150.00 per pot.

These are dwarf sanseverias.  Wow, I have plenty of  these, maybe  I ought to find a buyer someday. hehe…

The pink mums are so beautiful. I would end up with empty wallet if I buy these on a whim.

Mums in pots and in different colors.  So eye-catching!

Saw these beautiful blooms of variegated poinsettia but they were  labeled  “not for sale”.


Mums in wonderful colors.  They are sun-loving plants and they thrive well planted directly in well-irrigated soil.

Don’t you just wish you have these beautiful white Chrysanthemums in your own garden?

Showy plants, aren’t they?   I simply love their different hues.


I forgot the name of this bell-shaped flower, I think they also belong the the family of lilies.

Stargazers, they  are my favorite flowers and it takes quite a while for them to bloom.

The gardener says this is a new breed of petunia, its variegated flowers are simply beautiful.

They call her the Hydrangea lady or is she the Mums Lady?

These are Geraniums, bought a pot for my garden.

Can you see the water fountain here?  Nice, isn’t it?

I’ve been dreaming to buy these since I saw them at Caleruega, so I bought  four pots in different colors.  They are called Celosia.

So can you identify these plants?

Orchids and Lilies

Wow, so many colors of impatiens!

These are horsetail, used to have them in my garden.

Entrance to one of the gardens there.  It reminds me of a Secret Garden, you don’t know what is in store and discovering the place is simply a delight.

Hanging petunias in bloom!

Nice garden seats, how I wish I have one…

Hmm..simply wonderful!

Tags: , , ,

About arlene

Life starts with a beautiful dream. Life starts in somehow believing that one day you’ll get what you wished and prayed for. Life starts with something you believe you can do and dream about. My entries here are mostly about my journey as a cancer patient, a cancer survivor, a mother, a friend, and about the books I read, places I want to visit and have visited, people I want to meet someday and mostly about the daily grind of simple living. Dreams and Escapes is about having enough faith to go on, the will to live no matter how difficult life may seem sometimes and grateful appreciations of all the things one holds dear. It is about the belief that I could share a little of my journey through writing and writing is an escape for me. When things get a little too hard to bear, I put them into perspective by sharing them here. Dreams and Escapes, why not?

9 responses to “At The Heart of Manila Seedling Bank”

  1. marilyn m. cadorna says :

    it’s so amazing to see beautiful plants like thse, hope to see more, thank you and God Bless

  2. ros says :

    i’m hoping to go there during the long weekend. Thanks for sharing those beautiful photos, i feel like jumping there right now! 🙂

  3. jd says :

    Hi,

    I wonder if you have some wood sorrel/clover/taingang daga/oxalis?

    I am in desperate need of it. Hoping that you can help me.

    Thank you 🙂

  4. dino herrera says :

    may nag benta sa akin ng kampupot sa manila seedling bank…fake yun binigay sa akin…kapareho lang at konti pa bulaklak pero di mabango…may binebenta din silang green tea fake din e may green tea ako…anu ba yan wala bang nag mamanage dun just tyo confirm na tunay yun mga halaman

    • arlene1027 says :

      That’s sad to know Dino. I think most of the vendors there come from different places. So far, in all the visits that we had before, we haven’t encountered anything like you did.

      Thanks for visiting my blog!

  5. jerome says :

    may climbing rose bang tinda sa manila seedling bank

Trackbacks / Pingbacks

  1. 2010 In Review « Gardens and Empty Spaces - January 2, 2011

Leave a Reply

writing to freedom

words to inspire and empower

Playing by My Own Rules

Cancer Messed with the Wrong Hellion

I am Pam Holland

Textiles, Photography, Stories, Travel and Teaching

8Duffels & 2Mutts

Tales of an Expat Family in Ecuador

Jeanne de Montbaston

Reading Medieval Books

The Happiness Kitchen

Nutritious and delicious real food recipes

drizzleandhurricanebooks.wordpress.com/

Young Adult Books, travelling, and a whole lot of bookish feelings.

Ellie on the AT

A Baby's Trek on the Appalachian Trail

the creative life in between

cherishing the moments and exploring my passion for creativity... through art, photography, food, and writing

A Quirky Mom's Journal

immortalizing my thoughts about mommyhood,marriage,and everything in between

coolpeppermint

memories and musings

Zimmerbitch

age is just a (biggish) number) NUMBER

Watching the Daisies

Life Lessons on the Importance of Slow

Life Quotes and then Some

A Tribute to Life, Travels and Pets

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

radhikasreflection

Everyday musings ....Life as I see it.......my space, my reflections and thoughts !!

Paris: People, Places and Bling

Theadora's Field Guide to Shopping in Paris

An Unexpected Muse

writing ... after parkinson's

Leaping Life

Express Your World!

Le Drake Noir

Andrikken

Far East Travelogue

A Hotelier By Trade and A Traveler At Heart

Tails Around the Ranch

A pawsome pooch and the adventures of a pet therapy team

