My Amazon Lily Is Blooming Again

There was a time when I used to take shots of every flower in our garden but since we have it landscaped two years ago, everything now looks green except for my potted plants lining up one side of the wall. My Amazon lily blooms every year giving that sweet fragrance and oh so lovely flowers. Here are some facts about this showy plant. It belongs to the genus Eucharis and is called  Eucharis grandiflora. It is a slow growing bulb plant that produces star-shaped cluster of white flowers which have a prominent corona usually tinged with green.

And here are more facts about the Amazon Lily:

  • Amazon Lily is a bulbous perennial plant.
  • Amazon Lily plant leaves are basal and narrow into petioles.
  • Amazon Lily is a beautiful shade loving plant from South America.
  • The shinny dark green foliage is very attractive.
  • The broad stalked leaves are 20-55 cm long and 10-20 cm broad.
  • The glossy leaves of Amazon Lily plant are deep green, several inches wide and in the form of a rosette.
  • The tall Amazon Lily spikes bear fragrant , waxy, long lasting white flowers.
  • Mature clumps can flower at different times of the year but more often it will flower in the spring.
  • It likes shade and sheltered areas and makes an excellent potted plant.
  • The bulbs will go dormant if the temperatures goes near freezing.
  • Amazon Lily plants can flower twice a year.
  • All parts of Amazon Lily plant are poisonous if ingested.
Tags: , , , , , ,

About arlene

Life starts with a beautiful dream. Life starts in somehow believing that one day you’ll get what you wished and prayed for. Life starts with something you believe you can do and dream about. My entries here are mostly about my journey as a cancer patient, a cancer survivor, a mother, a friend, and about the books I read, places I want to visit and have visited, people I want to meet someday and mostly about the daily grind of simple living. Dreams and Escapes is about having enough faith to go on, the will to live no matter how difficult life may seem sometimes and grateful appreciations of all the things one holds dear. It is about the belief that I could share a little of my journey through writing and writing is an escape for me. When things get a little too hard to bear, I put them into perspective by sharing them here. Dreams and Escapes, why not?

4 responses to “My Amazon Lily Is Blooming Again”

  1. ms pinay blogger says :

    Hi ma’am Arlene, could you please give us some tips in taking care of Amazon Lily because I would love to have one too.

  2. lny says :

    Hi! Can I know at which time of the year it blooms?

Leave a Reply

