Garden Finds

It rains every day now and the grass grows faster and longer. Such a shame because I could not garden when the grass is wet with rain. I am afraid of mosquitoes and some insects sharing a home with my ornamental  plants and vegetables. Mom planted taro shoots a week ago and they are nicely growing outside.  Every year, the back of the house is always full of ampalaya  ( bitter gourd) occupying our garden trellis permanently fixed with tie wires.  Ampalaya is so easy to grow, it just need enough space to crawl  through. In a month or two, you would be harvesting some for the kitchen.  This morning, I harvested more than a kilo of the bonito variety and every three or four days, it would give you enough to last for a week’s supply. Most of the time though, I share my harvest with our neighbors.

IMG_5037

One thing about organic gardening is that you are assured that the veggies you eat are pesticide-free and you can always have them freshly picked. Aside from using this for our famous Pangasinan pinakbet, one could also mix it with scrambled eggs or as fresh salad.

Tomorrow, it’s time to pick calamansi  and make it into a refreshing juice.  The rewards of gardening!

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,

About arlene

Life starts with a beautiful dream. Life starts in somehow believing that one day you’ll get what you wished and prayed for. Life starts with something you believe you can do and dream about. My entries here are mostly about my journey as a cancer patient, a cancer survivor, a mother, a friend, and about the books I read, places I want to visit and have visited, people I want to meet someday and mostly about the daily grind of simple living. Dreams and Escapes is about having enough faith to go on, the will to live no matter how difficult life may seem sometimes and grateful appreciations of all the things one holds dear. It is about the belief that I could share a little of my journey through writing and writing is an escape for me. When things get a little too hard to bear, I put them into perspective by sharing them here. Dreams and Escapes, why not?

4 responses to “Garden Finds”

  1. Angeline M says :

    Thanks for the follow over on my blog. Nice to meet you here on WordPress.

  2. Maria M says :

    We have grown gourds here in Ireland but they are not a favorite as they tend to ripen all at once and we end up with too much.

    • arlene says :

      Oh, that’s too bad, vegetables like this should be picked before they ripen. I usually give the excess harvest to our neighbors. Thanks for the visit Maria M.

Leave a Reply

