Clusters

It’s nice to be back and share my garden finds. I guess it’s time to take hold of my camera again and take a few shots. Look what I’ve found.

IMG_5745

I didn’t plant this  tomato shrub but just saw it growing side by side with our peanut grass at the front garden. It was a delight to see these green  tomatoes waiting to ripen. Something comes to mind, botanically speaking, tomatoes are fruits  but we consider them vegetables. How’s that again? I am getting confused.

IMG_5748

Our two jackfruit trees are laden with fruits growing in almost every tip of each branch. The sad thing though, not all of them will grow big at all.  Mom says the fruits with smooth skin are the  ones that would  ripen and grow big, the rest will just dry up and fall. Every morning, I would count the fruits, can’t wait to harvest some  in a  month or two.

IMG_5751

One thing I love about our calamansi trees (we have two) are the scents of the flowers. Calamansi or Philippine lime bear fruits all year round and they are perfect in almost any dish that need a little spicing up. They could be used to  marinate meat or as sauces for grilled or fried food.  Ripe fruits are excellent  as juices too.

IMG_5746

Not to be left behind are my pink Bougainvillea.  I just love the pink blooms.

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,

About arlene

Life starts with a beautiful dream. Life starts in somehow believing that one day you’ll get what you wished and prayed for. Life starts with something you believe you can do and dream about. My entries here are mostly about my journey as a cancer patient, a cancer survivor, a mother, a friend, and about the books I read, places I want to visit and have visited, people I want to meet someday and mostly about the daily grind of simple living. Dreams and Escapes is about having enough faith to go on, the will to live no matter how difficult life may seem sometimes and grateful appreciations of all the things one holds dear. It is about the belief that I could share a little of my journey through writing and writing is an escape for me. When things get a little too hard to bear, I put them into perspective by sharing them here. Dreams and Escapes, why not?

4 responses to “Clusters”

  1. sandra dorey says :

    Thank you for dropping in on our Stonechat blog! Great to see all these exotic (to me) fruits and vega – I saw them in the supermarket in Abu Dhabi recently and got told off for taking photos! What country are you gardening in – looks wonderful!

  2. JM says :

    Lately I became very interested in growing plants but I can’t find sources online that is local. So I created a forum where us pinoys can discuss about gardening:

    http://www.pinoygardening.com

    Please help me grow the community. Feel free to signup and post. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

