Nostalgic Moments (Revisiting Our Garden At Home)

A home away from home.

It’s almost  four years now since I went home to the province to  bond with some of  our relatives and visit our garden there. I miss the times that I used to bring my camera and take shots of every growing flowers there and wish I could bring them back home to Manila. I don’t have enough space though so  it would just have to be in pictures.

I am quite ashamed I haven’t updated this gardening blog for quite a while. Maybe, I’ll make a simple resolution to post something every week (easier said than done). I won’t make promises but we’ll see. Here are some favorite photos that I took the last time I was there, always with my then eight-year old niece in tow.

the first time I've seen this Powder Puff plant, i wanted to have it in my own little garden here in the city.

The first time I’ve seen this Powder Puff plant, I wanted to have it in my own little garden here in the city.

My brother had this ingenious way of putting light in the garden. It was attached to one of our coconut trees near our gate.

My brother had this ingenious idea   of putting light in the garden. It was attached to one of our coconut trees near our gate.

That old garden seat has witnessed a lot of bonding with my niece - short stories that she sometimes invents, activities in school, food and books.

That old garden bench  has witnessed a lot of bonding with my niece – short stories that she sometimes invents, activities in school, food and books.

Jackfruit, anyone? they have a few fruit-bearing trees there.

Jackfruit, anyone? They have a few fruit-bearing trees there including this.

A variegated Vietnam Rose.

A variegated Vietnam Rose.

Wild yellow flowers growing at our front gate. I don't know its name, do you?

Wild yellow flowers growing at our front gate. I don’t know its name, do you?

I miss these greens....

I miss these greens….

These Agaves are lined up along the road fronting the house.

These Agaves are lined up along the road fronting the house.

And they still use firewood there which Mom gathers from our backyard. Some are fallen trees destroyed by typhoons. mom has a small separate place where she cooks using firewood.

And they still use firewood there which Mom gathers from our backyard. Some are fallen trees destroyed by typhoons. Mom has a small separate place where she cooks using firewood.

Wild but lovely....

Wild but lovely….

Dwarf coconut trees planted by my late dad are interspersed with palm trees.

Dwarf coconut trees planted by my late dad are interspersed with palm trees.

When I took this shot, I wondered if the flower was eaten by insects but it was naturally shaped that way.

When I took this shot, I wondered if the flower was eaten by insects but it was naturally shaped that way.

 

Tags: , , , , ,

About arlene

Life starts with a beautiful dream. Life starts in somehow believing that one day you’ll get what you wished and prayed for. Life starts with something you believe you can do and dream about. My entries here are mostly about my journey as a cancer patient, a cancer survivor, a mother, a friend, and about the books I read, places I want to visit and have visited, people I want to meet someday and mostly about the daily grind of simple living. Dreams and Escapes is about having enough faith to go on, the will to live no matter how difficult life may seem sometimes and grateful appreciations of all the things one holds dear. It is about the belief that I could share a little of my journey through writing and writing is an escape for me. When things get a little too hard to bear, I put them into perspective by sharing them here. Dreams and Escapes, why not?

23 responses to “Nostalgic Moments (Revisiting Our Garden At Home)”

  1. Maricel R. says :

    Wow, that’s a lot of greens, Ate Arlene. I’m jealous. 🙂

    • arlene says :

      Thanks, mas malawak pa yan kasi mahilig din sa plants yung sis-in-law ko. I miss it.

      • Maricel R. says :

        Kakatuwa naman po. Mga sisters-in-law ko hindi mahilig mag garden eh.

      • arlene says :

        Siya taga hanap at taga ipon ng mga halaman, brother ko taga landscape….hehehe! Si mommy puro naman vegetables tinatanim niya. May prang kubo sila sa likod ng bahay.

      • Maricel R. says :

        Sana me in-law din akong ganyan. At least meron ako kasama mag plan ng itatanim. Maganda kasi tingnan sa bahay pag maraming halaman lalo na pag maganda pagka landscape. Dream kong gawin this year is an asian-inspired zen garden. Sana magkakatotoo. 🙂

      • arlene says :

        I love the minimalist look of Japanese gardens. Yung rocks, tapos may focal point then a water fountain in a corner. I had a small pond built here at home pero namatay lahat ng Koi na alaga namin nung bumaha. so ayun, di ko na pinalagyan ng tubig, mahal din paandar nung pump.

      • Maricel R. says :

        I love them too. I’m researching on many DIY projects na pwede ko gawin para maka lessen lang sa expenses. Wala pa po akong idea on the pump but will try baka me pwede matulong yong kapatid kong jack-of-all-trades. Hehe. Problem din po sa amin yung baha so baka hindi ko na lagyan.

      • arlene says :

        You can use a small clay fountain with a small submersible pump. Kami rin pag habagat pumapasok ang tubig kaya ang nakatanim dito carabao grass but you have to trim it once a month. There are plenty of garden mags at Booksale, try mo, yung combination lang ng what plants to put together.

  2. A Gracious Life says :

    Wow, what a lovely space!!! Both the blog and the garden. I miss the countryside.

  3. lolaWi says :

    beautiful pictures, Arlene! i miss pangasinan 🙂 i look forward to visiting here more often. btw, back in the Multiply days, i had a separate blog site called ‘my little garden’ which took a back seat after TJ was born. of late, I decided to compile my blogs and photos into a book titled what else but ‘my little garden’. it’s been a long time project but i’m 98% done! am just working on the cover, can’t decide what photo to use :). but i’m so excited and hope to have a coffee table book by next month!!!!

    • arlene says :

      Wow! I envy you for putting one up. All my Multiply photos are at Photobucket. I had my hard drive long after Multiply closed so I haven’t transferred them yet.

      I hope I could see your book someday! Make one on your travels too.

  4. tinsrapadas says :

    lovely lovely photos! I especially love the white flower, very interesting! I hope you could continue posting more blogs here. I also find it hard to update my own blog, I promised myself that I would blog twice a week, but as you said, easier said than done hehehe 🙂 Good luck and hope to read more of your blogs and see more photos 🙂

    • arlene says :

      Thank you so much. I maintain four blogs here so much of my time is focused on my main blog, Dreams and Escapes. I often neglect updating the three others. Hopefully this year I could post more. I don’t know the name of that white flower 😦 I forgot to ask my sis-in-law when I took that shot. If you have time, kindly visit Dreams and Escapes, you’ll find more substantial posts there. Again, thanks a lot!

      • tinsrapadas says :

        You’re welcome 🙂 Sure I’ll check your other blog, Dreams and Escapes 🙂 I like reading your blog and checking the photos out 🙂

  5. dilip says :

    Arlene what a beautiful post so full of natures bounty. I am also touched to note your late father, mom and brother all contributed their ideas to make this garden so nostalgic and heavenly.
    Please do visit my little garden blog when you find the time http://jugnoofarms.wordpress.com/
    🙂

Leave a Reply

