The Earth Laughs In Flowers

It’s Wednesday. The  sun briefly showed its face this morning then it hid the whole day behind the clouds.  It’s a perfect time for gardening.  I haven’t done any weeding for the last few months but this morning I joined hubby and my son (who’s day-off falls on a weekday) to trim the overgrown carabao grass.  I’ve missed this activity, digging your hands  in the dirt and just  letting time pass slowly while you are busy pulling out stubborn weeds lodged in between the Fukien tea plants.   There is something so soothing and so peaceful  while you are in a garden, a  serenity that you cannot find somewhere else.

The foot path is clearly visible now.    The problem with carabao grass is that you have to trim it at least once every month,  every three weeks at the most or else you’d be left with tangled weeds which looks a little bushy.

Then I found these little flowers growing side by side with our Bromeliads,  Vinca and Yellow Iris.   I actually miss the profusion of flowers here. Everything is almost green now except for this lovely Bougainvillea which we are growing as a shade for  the  grotto.

Then I remember this quote, was it from E.E Cummings, “the earth laughs in flowers.”

Tags: , , , , ,

About arlene

Life starts with a beautiful dream. Life starts in somehow believing that one day you’ll get what you wished and prayed for. Life starts with something you believe you can do and dream about. My entries here are mostly about my journey as a cancer patient, a cancer survivor, a mother, a friend, and about the books I read, places I want to visit and have visited, people I want to meet someday and mostly about the daily grind of simple living. Dreams and Escapes is about having enough faith to go on, the will to live no matter how difficult life may seem sometimes and grateful appreciations of all the things one holds dear. It is about the belief that I could share a little of my journey through writing and writing is an escape for me. When things get a little too hard to bear, I put them into perspective by sharing them here. Dreams and Escapes, why not?

Leave a Reply

